Candidates gear up for June 24 primary

election 2014

By Traci Chapman

On June 24, Canadian County voters will head to the polls for county, state and federal elections.

If any candidate receives the majority of the vote, that individual will either claim the seat, or in the case of offices that have drawn Democratic candidates, that individual will face their competitor in the Nov. 4 general election. If no one candidate achieves that majority, the top two vote-getters in the race will face each other in the Aug. 26 runoff election. Independent candidates are listed on primary ballots, Canadian County Election Board Secretary Wanda Armold said.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. June 24.

Canadian County Districts 1 and 3 will hold commissioners races, while incumbent treasurer Carolyn Leck will face a challenger in the June 24 race. No one filed against Assessor Matt Wehmuller.

State Offices


Democrat Joe Dorman, 43, will face the Republican candidate in the Nov. 4 general election. Republicans who have filed are incumbent Mary Fallin, 59; Joe Dorman, 43; 46-year-old Chad Moody; and Dax Ewbank, 38. Richard Prawdzienski, 66; Joe Sills, 34; and Kimberly Willis, 51, are running as Independents on the ballot.

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Both Democrats and Republicans will hold primaries in the race for Superintendent of Public Instruction. Democrats Jack Herron, 68; Feda Deskin, 65; and 77-year-old Ivan Holmes hope to win their primary, while incumbent Republican Janet Barresi, 62, will face challengers Joy Hofmeister, 49, and 50-year-old Brian S. Kelly.

Insurance Commissioner

Republican incumbent John Doak, 51, will face 61-year-old Bill Viner for the insurance commissioner seat.

Corporation Commissioner

Republicans Cliff Branan, 52, and Todd Hiett, 46, will vie for corporation commissioner.

State Representative – District 43

Some voters in Mustang School District will choose among four Republican contenders for the District 43 seat. John Paul Jordan, 33; Bill Baker, 62; Nathan Harper, 49; and Jonathan Clour, 22, will face off in the June 24 primary. Democrat Sarah Baker, 29, will appear on the Nov. 4 ballot.

Several other state seats will also be part of the general election ballot. Those races are:

Lieutenant Governor    

Incumbent Republication Todd Lamb, 42, will defend his seat against 52-year-old Democratic challenger Cathy Cummings.

Commissioner of Labor

Republican incumbent Mark Costello, 58, will face 63-year-old Mike Workman, a Democrat, Nov. 4.


Incumbents who did not draw opponents

State Auditor and Inspector

Gary A. Jones, 59 – Republican

Attorney General

Scott Pruitt, 45 – Republican

State Treasurer

Ken Miller, 47 – Republican

District Judge – District 26, Office 1

Gary E. Miller

Associate District Judge – Canadian County

Bob W. Hughey

District Attorney – District 4

Mike Fields

State Representative – District 47

Leslie Osborn, 50 – Republican

Federal Offices

U.S. Senate

Jim Inhofe, 79, will face four Republican challengers: D. Jean McBride-Samuels, 59; Erick Paul Wyatt, 35; Evelyn L. Rogers, 61; and Rob Moye, 58. Three Independents have also thrown their hat into the ring – 78-year-old Ray Woods; Aaron DeLozier, 30; and Joan Farr, 58. Democrat Matt Silverstein, 33, will take part in the Nov. 4 general election.

In the race for the unexpired U.S. Senate term of Thomas Coburn, both Democrats and Republicans will battle it out in primary races. Democrats Connie Johnson, 61, Patrick Michael Hayes, 39, and 79-year-old Jim Rogers will vie for the seat, as well as seven Republicans – Jason Weger, 31; Kevin Crow, 46; Eric C. McCray, 33; T.W. Shannon, 36; Randy Brogdon, 60; James Lankford, 46; and Andy Craig, 41. Independent Matt T. Beard, 54, will be on the Nov. 4 ballot.

U.S. Representative

In District 3, incumbent Frank D. Lucas, 54, will face 69-year-old Robert Hubbard and Timothy Ray Murray, 47. Democrat Frankie Robbins, 68, will take part in the general election.

Tom Cole, 64, is the incumbent in the District 4 race. He will face challengers Tae Si, 27; Bert Smith, 66; and 46-year-old Anna Flat. Independent Dennis B. Johnson, 74, will also be featured on the ballot.